You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty I’m gonna be tuning into Black Dynamite when it premiers on Adult Swim July 25th. The team that brought you The Boondaocks has come together on yet another blackaliscious project. Black Dynamite is based on the 2009 film directed by Scott Sanders and written by Sander, Micheal Jai White (Black Dynamite) and Byron Minns who also plays Bulhorn in the film. The film has gained a loyal cult following since premiering at Sundance Film Festival back in 2009. Being a fan of blaxploitation films myself this movie is a work of art. It draws from all my seventies favorites like Boss Nigga, The Human Tornado, Shaft, Super Fly and many others. The jokes in Dynamite are intelligent in that they are subtle, not in your face and only those familiar with the genre and all it’s imperfections will catch them. I found myself several times laughing at things that no one else seemed to get, but I did and I also knew what movie they cleverly stole it from. Before announcing this animated series there was a part two of Black Dynamite in the works, but perhaps the motive with the toon is too see if they can grab a wider fan base before heading back to the big screen. Good marketing? That remains to be seen, there’s always the possibility of BD wearing out it’s welcome with a series. I’m just gonna have to leave it in the creators hands and hope that Black Dynamite will be here to stay.

