Perhaps, the past has returned to us in the form of music and video. Chairlift, a synthpop duo coming out of Boulder, has created a beautiful song with an even more impressive idea to display it. Their video for, “Met Before”, allows the audience the opportunity for a myriad of outcomes by using their arrow keys to direct the video to their liking. The video has been different for me all five times I replayed it. Imagine going to the movies, or watching at home, where a click or a wink takes you to a personal outcome and experience. I love it, it gives me the deja vu that the track itself implies. I’m going to date myself but, back when, once a month or so, we school children would each receive a small color catalogue full of books available to order through the classroom. It was a good day when those books came in, mostly because the ones I selected included at least one of the ‘choose your own adventure’ stories. Within these books, the reader peruses for a couple pages then is forced to opt where the story goes next at regular intervals. Turn to page 27 if you want Johnny to jump, page 29 if you want him to fight, so on and so forth. These novelettes were the most engaging form of media for me prior to the Christmas of the Atari 2600, I haven’t really seen anything like them til now. Grady Hendrix, of Slate.com, has an article on the history and titles of the books in question HERE.  Hopefully, I won’t have to wait another thirty years to witness the next revelation. By the way, the track behind the tech is going to catch you while you’re playing.

Written by Hugo Schoen

