Take yourself back to a recent film in memory where you welled up, fought back the swelling in your eyes and recall the music behind the imagery that was causing your most human emotional response.  The latest work to enter my archive of blubbery is We Bought a Zoo, directed by Cameron Crowe with a score by Jonsi ( pronounced yownsee ).  The movie itself stands alone as one of quality, great for individual viewing and even better for families.  But, when you mesh Jonsi‘s orchestral arrangements blended with bass piano and toy keyboards creating a soft, lo-fi analog sound, I find it one not to miss out on.  Crowe was fortunate enough to become acquainted with the Icelandic artist while directing his 2001 film, Vanilla Sky, which featured several songs by Jonsi’s outfit ,Sigur Ros. This was in the emerging years of Sigur Ros, and fortunately for us, Crowe once again was able to benefit from Jonsi’s immense talent of blending sound and sentiment.

The full stream of the album can be found at RollingStone.com.

Cameron Crowe has done some great work in my opinion.  Jerry Maguire, Almost Famous, Say Anything, one of my favorites, Singles, he wrote the screenplay for Fast Times at Ridgemont High for christ’s sakes.  But, even more impressive is his fundamentally awesome taste in music, which directly influences his work for the screen.  I feel I could do ten to twenty blog pages alone just covering this aspect.  In fact I may.  I digress.  One thing I wanted to mention in regards to We Bought a Zoo‘s purchaseable soundtrack is that it does not include some of the ridiculously good songs that are embedded in the film.  Songs from artists like Tom Petty, Wilco, Cat Stevens, Echo and the Bunnymen, Bob Dylan, Temple of the Dog, Neil Young, Bon Iver, The Isley Brothers, Mike McCready are all in there.  I just had to throw some of this fuss in this article to give you a taste.

