The thirties was easily one of the best times and most bloddiest in America‘s history. The mix of wealth and corruption took on a whole new meaning in a time when folks were uncertain about everything. So many people were doing what they had to do to survive and most died doing it, but there’s no denying the lure of illegal alcohol, drugs, cars, prostitutes and clothes that soaked the landscape. They all went hand in hand. I guess that’s why films from that era are so appealing, The Great Gatsby, Bonnie and Clyde, The Sting were all great films cause it showed off all those things. It seemed like a time when the playing field was pretty even (although we know it wasn’t) and if you had the muscle…you ran shit. I didn’t mean for this to turn into a history lesson I just wanted to give you my take on why I think these films will never go out of style. So to honor that bootlegging tradition the good folks at Flavorwire were nice enough to put together this montage of prohibition era films set to the music of Outkast (if memory serves me right I believe this track is from the Idlewyld OST), but don’t quote me on this. Enjoy!

The 75 Coolest Looking Prohibition-Era Movie Characters from Flavorwire on Vimeo.

