I grew up in the eighties so you will never hear me say a bad word about any of these actors, but I will say that the recession and the lack of original films had turned these once hard ass actors into geriatric clowns in the last decade. This is why this movie, at least from what I see in it’s trailer, has that level of real emotion that I miss so much. No ones has put out a good street flick, something with real stakes and not some glossy bullshit in a long time. I do have a problem with the need for Hollywood to pair up these guys with uber-young starlets as if pairing them up with amazing actresses from their time would turn off the viewer. What would be the problem with casting Angelica Houston or Talia Shire to round out the cast? It’s like your watching this film and you have all these amazing actors who are in their late 60’s (sure I get the whole second mid life crises), but then I’m jarred by these fresh faces, one cause I don’t know who they are and two cause it’s looks pedo. Almost as if to say “it’s cool it’s Christopher Walken, Al Pacino and Alan Arkin being pervy old men.” I kept waiting to see Scarlet Johansson for realz. Who knows maybe these youngin’s presence has some substance…I’ll just have to watch it to find out. Stand Up Guys is directed by Fisher Stevens (Yeah The Indian guy from Short Circuit and used to be married to Michelle Pfieffer) and written by Noah Hiadle. The film stars Al Pacino, Alan Arkin and Christopher Walken. The film releases Release Date: January 11, 2013. Now if I can just fit the names of the stars into this post one more time my plan for world domination will be complete…muah…ah…ah!!

Also checkout the soundtrack for this film HERE. It’s got some heavy hitters in this one.

01. Hard Times – Baby Huey and The Babysitters
02. Old Habits Die HardJon Bon Jovi
03. Bright Lights – Gary Clark Jr
04. Not Running Anymore – Jon Bon Jovi
05. Get Down With It – Wayne Cochran & CC Riders

06. How Long – Charles Bradley featuring Menahan Street Band
07. Fooled Around and Fell In Love – Elvin Bishop
08. Stand Up Guys – Lyle Workman
09. Give It Back – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
10. Hoochie Coochie ManMuddy Waters
11. When Something Is Wrong With My Baby – Sam and


 

