Upstream-Color-BackgroundI got introduced to the works of Shane Carruth pretty much the same way everyone else did, by his film Primer. That film was groundbreaking in it’s use or should I say, lack of use, of special effects or CGI. He was able to convey the most convincing time travel story I had ever seen meanwhile the whole film looked like it had been Sweded.

His new film Upstream Color which stars and is written by Shane Carruth, is apparently so subliminal that critics at Sundance have been torn as to whether it’s a good film or not. Most figure it will have it’s crowd, kind of like director Terrence Malick‘s films. I, unfortunately, can’t formulate an opinion, cause I have yet to see Upstream Color, but I did find this on Firstshowing.net, a stream of  Upstream Color’s original motion picture soundtrack written and composed by Shane Carruth…oh shit! Triple threat! I haven’t been able to give it a good listen, but so far it’s what I’d expect from the hipster director. Anyway, I’m throwing this out there to you audiophiles in hopes it’ll tickle your ear holes.

“A man and woman are drawn together, entangled in the life cycle of an ageless organism. Identity becomes an illusion as they struggle to assemble the loose fragments of wrecked lives.” The cast includes Amy Seimetz, Shane Carruth, Andrew Sensenig and Thiago Martins.

Upstream Color releases on Video On Demand April 15th.

UpstreamColorAlbumFlowerTracks3

