iron man

I did a little reading on the Mandarin (Iron Man‘s arch nemesis), after watching the first trailer for Iron Man 3. What I gathered is he’s an idealist, kind of like Che Guevera, but a million times smarter. He is the Tony Stark of Indochina, but without his money and once again Tony’s father projects have had an indelible impact on his childhood. The part of The Mandarin is being played bycomics_the_mandarin, none other than, the super talented Ben Kingsley, you can hear his voice throughout this trailer actually. It’s an all too familiar formula to have the villain giving these poignant monologues for film trailers nowadays. The idea is to make the audience feel vulnerable and selfish. I promise this won’t be a post about the corruptible power of money, but it is funny how two blockbusting villains have been these so called modern day Robin Hoods, I speak of Bane (from The Dark Knight Rises) and The Mandarin of course. I don’t know where I was going with that, I just thought I would share this bit of Hollywood sociology. So yes, the trailer, it features some outstanding special effects along with a host of “Iron Man-ish” friends who show up at the end. I think they are those soldiers you see in the room at one point in the trailer, you tell me. It should be a fun ride and one I think, in 3D, should blow a few minds. Enjoy.

Iron Man 3 is directed by Jon Favreau and stars Robert Downey Jr.,Don Cheadle,Guy Pierce, Ben Kingsley and Gwyneth Paltrow (who swears this is the last one…whatever!). Iron Man releases in theaters on May 3, 2013.

Follow MITNG on Facebook Twitter Pinterest Tumblr and Google +

