YAMANTAKA-SONIC-TITAN

This morning I woke up to take my dog out, came back and decided that I wasn’t going back to sleep and started browsing music videos online and came across this amazing one called One by Yamantaka // Sonic Titan. Needless to say, I was blown away visually and aurally, so I had to do some research on this group and here’s what I found.

As suspected they are from Canada and are art students. Yamantaka‘s founding members are two girls Ruby Kato Attwood and Alaska B, the rest sounds more like rock opera, you’ll understand what I’, saying in just a second

(taken from Wiki)

The supporting members are John Ancheta on bass and acoustic guitar, Ange Loft and Walter Scott on vocals, Shub Roy on guitar, Brendan Swanson on keyboards, Alana Ruth on lights, Daniel Ellis and Chase Lo as dancers and Aylwin Lo as a projectionist.

To answer your question, they are as much a performing troupe as they are, one hell of a rock band. The makeup they wear is worn to signify Ruby and Alaska’s “Asian/Canadian” heritage. I’m guessing Japanese heritage, to be more exact, since they call the style of music they do Noh-Punk, a term that blends the traditional Japanese Noh theater  with punk rock, but I’ve been wrong before.

I’ll admit, after seeing this video, that I thought they were First Nation. The Native American vibe runs strong through this track, bouncing of the skies like an ancient horn summoning the elders of their tribe. It’s  all too provocative, engaging and WHY AM I JUST FINDING OUT ABOUT THEM??!!

While writing this article, I’ve been listening to their self titled 2011 release and it’s nothing short of genius. Strangely enough, it reminds me of Genghis Tron, very complicated, but emotional. This could easily become one of my new favorite bands.

I couldn’t find this single anywhere, so this may just be a sneak peak on a new release, but there’s no info on …wait…I lied.

(via. http://www.ytstlabs.com)

YAMANTAKA // SONIC TITAN have just announced UZU, the highly anticipated followup to the self-titled debut, YT//ST. Out October 29th on Suicide Squeeze Records (US) and Paper Bag (Canada), UZU exhibits a diverse range of influences, from bands like Sleep and Boris to art and cultural references like classical Japanese drama and the “nihilistic art-punk scene of pre-Giuliani New York City.”

“One” is a way to pay tribute to the extended group’s indigenous upbringing and leads off with a traditional Iroquois song. The introductory chant is a social song calling people together and is traditionally performed by people of the Mohawk tribe.

YAMANTAKA // SONIC TITAN will be touring North America this fall. Dates will be announced soon.

So there you go, I found this band interesting, to say the least and well worth a listen or two. Let me know what you think.


