grand-budapest-hotel

Wes Anderson…what can I say about his films? He never veers from the old/adolescent, protagonist, his films have all the same angles and cast for that fact and Mark Motherbaugh is always a shoe-in for the soundtrack. So why do we love his films? Could it be because he get’s amazing talent to do characters that they would otherwise never get a chance to play? Maybe it’s because we want to see what the chap has up his sleeve visually.

For me, it’s all of the above. Since Rushmore (the 1998 film starring Jason Schwartzman) I have been a fan of his dark and dry humor, his seemingly flippant attitude towards death, the awkward sex scenes and his need to make humans look silly. He’s a modern day storyteller, minus the rocking chair. As a writer, I am always amazed at how he juggles so many character’s in his films. I can barely handle one, in my sophomoric attempts at writing a script.  Of course, he’s famous enough to have others help him, which is what I need, so if anybody would love to give me some lessons on developing character’s in a movie please hit me back.

BEHOLD…the trailer for Wes Anderson’s The Grand Budapest Hotel starring Ralph Fiennes, F. Murray Abraham, Edward Norton, Mathieu Amalric, Saoirse Ronan, Adrien Brody, Willem Dafoe, Léa Seydoux, Jeff Goldblum, Jason Schwartzman, Jude Law, Tilda Swinton, Harvey Keitel, Tom Wilkinson, Bill Murray, Owen Wilson, and introducing Tony Revolori. The film is currently set for a March 17, 2014 release.

